Explore the impressive medieval Franciscan friary. It was founded by The O’Briens of Thomond, who once ruled much of north Munster.
The Franciscan friary quickly grew into a huge foundation, with 350 friars and a famed school of 600 pupils by 1375. It was the very last school of Catholic theology to survive the Reformation.
The building contains an exceptional wealth of 15th and 16th century sculptures carved in the local hard limestone, including one of St Francis himself displaying the stigmata. An arch between the nave and transept bears a remarkable image of Christ with his hands bound.
Don’t forget to visit the sacristy, an impressive structure with a ribbed, barrel-vaulted ceiling. Take a special note of the beautiful east window, with its five lancets, as it lights up the chancel.
- Guided tours
- Exhibitions on display
Good To Know
Admission: Admission fees apply.
Open months: Open April to November.
Visit duration: 60 minutes.
Suitability for younger children: Moderately suited.
Cool for kids Aged 6 to 12.
Rainy days: Mostly indoor.
Accessibility: Fully wheelchair accessible, no accessible toilets.
Assistance/guide dogs: Permitted.
Parking: Pay for car parking and coach parking nearby.
Details are subject to change. It is always advisable to check the opening dates, times, prices, and other information on their website or directly with the attraction before visiting or booking.